Thursday, January 2, 2020 - 11:22:28 IST   
Text Size

You are here


The department of Geology was started in the year of 2018 with the aim of propagating knowledge and developing skill in the field of geology, which is the fundamental applied science of exploration of natural resources. The department offers Three years Bachelor’s degree programme from 2018 onwards. The term ‘Geology’ is actually derived from Greek language. It translates to ‘Study of Earth’. It is basically Earth Science.

Geology means the study of Earth or Earth Science. It is about the study of the liquid and solid matter that comprises the surface of Earth. A course in Geology is concerned with the understanding and learning of how the entire system of Earth does its work. It includes the landforms, various processes, constituents, and history.

This discipline of science also deals with various physical components of Earth and processes such as landslides, floods, volcanic eruptions, earthquakes, etc. It studies the formation of Earth and how it has evolved over a period of 4.4 billion years. Geologists also study the source of origin of the atmosphere, oceans, and continents. All this information is crucial and helps them understand the reasons behind climate change and its consequences. Besides these, Geologists are also responsible for assessing suitable areas of various construction projects like bridges, buildings, roads, railway tracks, etc. and searching for areas rich in natural resources. Geology courses are a combination of lab work and field research.

Department of Geology organized Field Trips. The geomorphological field visit and paleontological Field visit for the first year students were taken to different places like Ariyalur Cement Factories (Ultratech and Ramco), Neyveli Lignite Mine and Ariyalur Limestone Depot etc. Final year students undertook mineralogy field visit on state level field study of mineral distribution in India.

Carriers of Geology Department

1. Geological Survey of India (GSI) 2. Central Ground Water Board (CGWB) 3. Oil and Natural Gas Commission (ONGC) 4. Hindustan Zinc Ltd 5. Minerals and Metals Trading Corporation (MMTC) 6. Coal India 7. Mineral Exploration Ltd. 8. Indian Bureau of Mines (IBM) 9. Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) 10. Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited (BPCL) 11. Agriculture department 12. Cement factories 13. Colleges


UG COURSE OFFERED: B.Sc Geology (3 Years)

Eligibility of the course:

B.Sc. Geology A Pass in 10+2 with Physics, Chemistry, Biology/ Computer Science Optional : Mathematics

Job Opportunities

  • Volcanologists
  • Petroleum Geologists
  • Environmental Geologists
  • Earth Science Teachers
  • Glacial or Quaternary Geologists
  • Structural Geologists
  • Hydrogeologists
  • Engineering Geologists
  • Paleontologist
Back to Top